My Dad taught me…

My Dad taught me…

How to fish, hunt, shoot, do math, play baseball (he was assistant coach in little league), catch a football, drive a tractor (with several different implements), how to bale hay and load and stack the hay in the barn loft. He gave me endless lessons on how to drive defensively, way before I was old enough to drive. I herded cattle and built and mended fences. I watched oilfield roughnecks work. I slept in a drilling rig barracks. I rode in a helicopter, a seaplane, a crew boat with him. I labored in an oilfield pipe yard one summer as a teen. I was a laborer on a surverying crew. I had a brief job as an assistant auto mechanic (fail!), but from my Dad I learned how to bleed the fuel injectors on a diesel tractor. He taught me how to polish my Sunday School and Church shoes. Dad was an usher in the Methodist Church.

My father was my hero.

Leave a comment